Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: gspca driver will not compile in intrepid

Beans

gspca driver will not compile in intrepid

Hi everybody,

This question has been asked couple of times on the forums:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=952718

I was having the same problem and I starting browsing through the code investigating the compile errors one by one. I managed to fix the compile problem and managed to compile and load the gspca driver.
    It seems that there are some interface incompatibilities between the gspcav1-20071224 driver and the current kernel.
    Just to let you know that I have no knowledge of the v4l and how it works. All I did is just found the incompatible parts of the gspca code and updated them to comply with the new changes from the kernel.
    After some time I managed to fix all compile errors and compiled the driver.
    Perhaps someone with better gspca+v4l knowledge can make use of this...

In case there is anyone out there that needs to compile the driver I am attaching a patch for gspcav1-20071224 (note the patch contains QuickCam E2500 from http://forums.quickcamteam.net/showthread.php?tid=310).

I own an E2500 cam and it does not seem to work properly. Most of the time the picture is dark (I don't know how to change the settings, anyone knows?). Sometimes I can see the video, but after I change settings using gqcam the picture goes dark again.

Hope this helps,
    Attached Files Attached Files

Beans

Re: gspca driver will not compile in intrepid

http://v4l2ucp.sourceforge.net/ helps with the image brightness

Beans

this is a widespread glitch on webcam apps since libv4l migration, i think this can only be address on application to application basis, that if the particular webcam app uses the libv4l api.

Beans

did you try adding this to the end of your /etc/modprobe.d/options file?

options gspca gamma=1 autoexpo=0

taken from http://www.actionshrimp.com/2008/08/...-ubuntu-skype/

Thanks for that patch!

Beans